Kite Reviews Kites Switch Switch Combat (2012)
 

Switch Combat (2012) Switch Combat (2012) Hot

Claim This Business
Switch Combat (2012)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2012
Sizes
  • 5
  • 7
  • 9
  • 11
  • 13

Do you want to take your freestyle riding to the next level? The Combat is an uncompromising freestyle performance kite for the advanced rider and competitor. The Combat kite is not for the faint-hearted.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.3
Performance 
 
9.5
Build Quality 
 
7.8
Control Bar 
 
6.8
Depower 
 
7.3
Relaunch 
 
8.3
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Switch Combat (2012) 2013-01-08 17:31:01 LBkites
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by LBkites    January 08, 2013

COMBAT 9mt

wonderfoul kite, it's fast, power and technical.
the "momentum" with this kite is the best i have even seen, make hard or new trick is very easy with this kite.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
9mt
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Switch Combat (2012) 2012-06-10 21:11:24 Steve
Overall rating 
 
5.3
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
2.0
Control Bar 
 
2.0
Depower 
 
7.0
Relaunch 
 
6.0
Reviewed by Steve    June 10, 2012

Lots of Issues. Done being a team rider.

After riding the combat for less than 6 months I can say I'm done with Switch. The Combat is a nice feeling kite and I will continue to fly my 13 but, if anyone wants an 11 hit me up I'll make you a good deal. These kites have had nothing but issues. I've sunk about $200 into repairs after owning my combats for about 6 months and I've moved onto another brand. Been kiting since 2008 and never had issues with any other brand. Flown SlingShot, Flexi, Best, Cabrinha... Maybe Switch will learn how to make a top quality kite but, so far I haven't seen it in the Combat.

Recap of my issues: batten pockets torn out (1st session on 13m), 3-4th on 11m, 11m center strut nearly torn off of the kite, bar is now tearing up on the grip, center line snapped after not showing much wear.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Wakestyle
Sizes used
11, 13
Was this review helpful to you? 
17
Report this review
Switch Combat (2012) 2011-11-03 06:24:54 Simon
Overall rating 
 
8.9
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
7.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by Simon    November 03, 2011

Combat 11 and 9m

This is a high performance C kite but is still user-friendly enough for the intermediate and above. Really precise handling due to the Carbon battens and five struts. The downsides of this is that it does not compact as tightly as other kites and needs to be flown aggressively when the wind < 10 knots. The depower is far better than CC kites of old and as good as many non-C kites, but the steering will slacken if the kite is depowered. Awesome pop and heaps of slack to pass the bar. I don't personally think the bar pressure is that high, many high performance C kites are more intense.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
Sizes used
11m and 9m
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Switch Combat (2012) 2011-11-02 19:46:31 Sean Buell
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
7.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Sean Buell    November 02, 2011

Switch Combat

(Discretion: Review done by Switch Kites team rider)

Performance Highlights:
-Top quality unhooked riding, sitting at the very edge of the window without back-stalling
-Easiest C Kite I've ever relaunched, very comparable to Ozone's C4 (without the bridles)
-Fast turning due to wingtip battens, also a fair amount of bar pressure (you'll always know where the kite is)

On the Water:
The Combat is a serious Kite meant to throw huge passes on, and yet with it's fast loops and unmatched freestyle performance, it's still able to relaunch on a dime. The bar design is very simple and easy to use, and adjustments to fit any size in your quiver. I'm very confident to try new tricks, especially with the below-the-bar flag out system and 5th line set up.

Reality Check:
The Combat isn't going to yank you to the moon with those sent jumps, but it will aid you in learning those mobes and slims you've bee dreaming about. Also, old men beware, there is a fair amount of bar pressure when free riding.

Bottom line:
The Combat is ideal for intermediate to expert freestyle/wakestyle riders that want to push their limits, and with a price tag almost half the cost of the competing market.


-Sean Buell

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
Sizes used
13m
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
 

Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page