Kite Reviews Kites Switch Switch Nitro (2012)
 

Switch Nitro (2012) Switch Nitro (2012) Hot

Claim This Business
Switch Nitro (2012)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2012
Sizes
  • 8
  • 10
  • 12
  • 14

Do you like winning races or trying unhooked moves or do you love going big or enjoy mowing the lawn? If you are a bit of an all-rounder but still love to feel the power then the Nitro is the kite for you.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.7
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.2
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
8.6
Relaunch 
 
7.6
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Switch Nitro (2012) 2012-12-28 13:32:19 Marc Lacoste
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by Marc Lacoste    December 28, 2012

light wind savior

Disclaimer : I'm a switch team rider. I don't get paid, though, just have a small discount because I let try other people my kites. I'm not a very experienced rider : I start to jump unhooked and to land backrolls.

I review this 16m² V1 after a year of use and many saved light wind sessions. This was my first switch kite : I wanted a low wind kite but the usual suspects are way too pricey in big sizes. I paid full price for this one, and boy it was a useful expense.

The setup is simple and fast for a big 16m² : one pump big valve = 1 minute pumping. There was only one rear line attachment point in this V1, bar pressure is adjustable for the newer v2. There is two options for the front lines : long and 10cm shorter, but in fact I only use the long setting. I use it with 28m lines : it benefits from being far away, with 23m lines it's a bit crunched.

Relaunch is OK, pull with a rear line and it will move on the side, but since I use it in light wind, it could be stuck on the water if wet. When standing, it can be reversed launch in 8-9 knots though. But the kite is very stable, even in light winds you can talk with someone else on the beach without looking at it and always moving it.

Its low end is great : I can ride a TT from 9 knots, and stay upwind from 10! on the other side, it's manageable til 18, 20 in gusts, but at this moment you really should have switched to a smaller size :)

The depower is good, though it's designed to still have some tension when released to put it back more easily and ride more, but it's not 100%, it's a bit like suicide but not so intimidating for beginners. There is also a 100% depower with a "flag it" handle, but that's when things are getting ugly only: lines will tangle, like other 100% depower systems. Having both is best.

Upwind is excellent : you can go fast and wind angle is really good, I'm often 10° to 20° closer than the others. The only time I had to walk back was because the wind had rotated at least 45°!

Bar pressure is a bit high, not that bad for a lightwind machine, but is adjustable in the new V2. The Kite isn't a supertanker in the air : of course you won't get the mosquito flying characteristcs of a 6m², but it's still responsive and can cross the wind window in 3 seconds at most. If you can anticipate the movements, lift could be pretty impressive.

It isn't intended for waves, but if you have some, its behaviour is OK. You have to anticipate more, it came close to backstalling but was still flying. With its bar pressure, you always know were it is.

The construction is well done: stitches, fabric, lines, reinforcements are neat. As far as I know, prices are unbeatable given the switchkites business model.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
  • Race
  • Light Wind
Sizes used
16
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Switch Nitro (2012) 2011-11-06 16:10:52 roli
Overall rating 
 
8.2
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
6.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by roli    November 06, 2011

Nitro 8m & 12m Review

After extensive testing my new nitros in Egypt I want to share my impressions.
I don't want to loose too many words about unpacking impressions. There are a lot of reviews about the quality of the material in the web. Feedback from the guys at the spot was that regarding the quality, stitching,... the kites doesn't have to hide from the well known brands.
As it was a NKB station remarks on the similarities of the switch bar could not be avoided.

Tested the 12m at my homespot for landboarding in gusty conditions as usual about 8 to 16kts with several lulls two days before going to Egypt. Because of the crappy conditions I couldn't test it much but I was little bit outraged as it tended to overfly me anytime I tried to park the kite in the zenith. So far so good.

First day in Egypt - holding my 12m Nitro in the air at about 15-20kts. The first time it felt as the kite doesn't have enough outline. Coming from deltas I must admit that it took me a short while to understand the Nitro. I felt that the Nitro needs to get blown (sry for my English - German word is "anzustroemen") more sensitively, it's not a kite you've just to lift and cruise around without thinking. The Nitro is more like a performance / high performance kite. It turns gusts immediately into power.
Well, after I understood that I've to fly the Nitro more active as my former deltas (and of course my KF Psycho) the Nitro really impressed me.
The kite turns fast. On my first jumps I steered the kite backwards - as always - the kite was already far beyond the zenith and lifted barely.

I'm 75kg and was riding only my 135cm Underground FLX there.
Conditions ranged from 10kts riding my 18m Kitefactory Dragster to gusty 30kts having fun with my 8m Nitro on short lines. Further out waves up to 2m (swell).


Characteristics hat impressed me:

- feels to have top notch stuff in hands, also the accessory e.g. bag is manufactured as well as with FS and North, didn't need to buy a Kitefix kit if I had such a repairkit before.
- nice outline
- upwind abilities. Going upwind with the Nitro is a charm. It goes very far to the edge of the wind window. The first times retrieving my board I was even too far upwind when looking for the board

- Lift and hangtime. Smooth lift and huge hangtime. If you want to go high and far - Nitro is your choice.
- turns fast
- quickly on the edge of the wind window, fast driving speed
- stable in the air, turns gusts into power
- easy relaunch. Never had any issue with starting the Nitro. All of the tricks I know to relaunch worked on this kite. In stronger winds only had to pull on one line, no difference to my former "auto relaunch" deltas.
Nevertheless maybe I'll attach a 5th for snowkiting as I'm used to start with the 5th line, maybe not.

Things that leave space for improvement:

Well, I cannot find anything on the kite, only the valve is matter of taste.

- Bag size. I loved the NKB bags for the expandability to carrot bags. Remedied that issue with laundry bags.

- Bar. The bar is well designed, no doubt. As I mentioned I couldn't deny the relationship to the North bar.
- The Bar feels heavy, not a big issue.
-Grip. The grip is very rough. It's ok when snowkiting but in the water my fingers were excoriated after first session.
- Chickenloop line. After a few sessions the line looks really shitty. Not happy with this.
- Rust. Parts (Chickenloop) are already rusty . And yes, I washed and immersed it into fresh water after each session.

Of course I'm in the purchase/ demo circle like many others here, but I'm not willing to accept any compromises or lose my credibility because of a discount. After testing the kites extensively in Egypt I'm really impressed, not only me, but also the guys I gave it to (if I can believe them).

Well, all in all I'm happy with my purchase. My doubts have gone - I must admit I was not so happy buying a pig in a poke. If you consider to get a switch kite - just contact one of us for demoing. Or just ask if you see a guy with a switch kite at the spot.

Cheers roli

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
8m 12m
Was this review helpful to you? 
160
Report this review
Switch Nitro (2012) 2011-11-03 00:43:12 Mathieu
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by Mathieu    November 03, 2011

Nitro 12m Quebec, Canada

Google translator sorry...

Hello, here are my first impressions with my Nitro 8m to Isle aux Coudres in Quebec, Canada
Winds of 30nds, I weigh 165lbs.

To start the materials are solid appearance and qualities, reinforcements in the right places, valve for quick inflation and deflation. Small details about the kite that shows that switch would not make kites simple and basic to save more money.

The bar is made with adjustments effective. Nodes directly to the bar and 3m extension. Convertible easily 55 to 45mm. However, it is a little heavy. Good depower on the bar and the trim is effective. There is a swivel on the chicken loop which is effective unhooked (swivel adjustable resistance). The comfort of the bar could be improved to our hands.

Once the kite off here are my thoughts. The kite is fast and stable. Effective in jump. The kite always wants more. Difficult to relaunch when lack of wind. This is not the ideal kite to ride on days when the wind is less certain, but when the wind is strong, it responds beautifully.

The bag for the bar is separated from the bag of the kite, we can repack the 8m but not the 12m.
Repair kit very effectively. Fast Shipping
It recognizes that the company has at heart the satisfation of their riders.
Quick test of the Nitro and speed of 12m kite is impressive for the size of the canopy compared to other brands.

In general I am completely satisfied with my switch and several riders from here liked what they saw and many wanted to try it.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
8m
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Switch Nitro (2012) 2011-10-31 10:43:59 David
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by David    October 31, 2011
Last updated: October 31, 2011

Switch Nitro... a BOMB

Hi to all, see the video below testing 8 and 12 (not 10) Nitro...a BOMB!

Powerful Kite! Awesome hangtime! Easy to move, even with one hand... as you can see in the video. Very stable in air. Very good feeling in all situations. Very solid construction. Very good price... BUY DIRECT!

I joined the Switch revolution and I'm happy to be a part of it.

Details

Suited Styles
Freestyle
Sizes used
8 and 12
Was this review helpful to you? 
34
Report this review
Switch Nitro (2012) 2011-10-30 02:40:07 waydo77
Overall rating 
 
8.4
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by waydo77    October 30, 2011

12m Nitro

Hi all, my first review here as i report from my hospital bed after an appendectomy.

I am currently a team rider but have no byas towards the brand for this reason, Simply stating the facts.


Weight - 82kgs
Board - Underground FLX 05 model 142x42 (piece of **** board with no concave whatsoever, and a pretty useless upwind board..
Wind - 8 Knots to 15 knots gusty

I have ridden North Rhino 06 14m, North Rebel 07 12m, Slingshot Fuel 08 12m, Naish Cult 09 12m, Flexifoil ION4 2010 12.5m.

Looked into switch kites as I believed many kites in the market were way overpriced and was recommended by a team rider for switch. Didnt really expect too much of the kite for such a cheap price as I also went for the team member setup.

Ordered the kite online and to my dismay 3 days later it arrived- Awesomely fast for something so big!

On first impressions of the kite, (pumping it up on the grass as I couldn't wait for wind), the kite looks solid, a different thinner style leading edge then I'm used to which rolls up weird as it has a flattish profile, nice reinforcing on the wingtips and scuff guards on the kite, makes it look mean. The kite did hav a strange profile to what I am used to but overall it looked good with fairly simplistic graphics.

Control Bar is really nice and reinforced with metal parts where some companies still have plastic ones that tend to get sundamaged. The loop looks a little oversized but has a great safety system that seems to work well.

Maybe Time to hit the water?

OK so I rocked up at the beach not really intending to hit the water as it was only averaging 8 knots and I just wanted to have a fly. Got the kite up in the air and my first thoughts were what the hell is this kite doing? On further investigation found it to just be the wind dropping in and out..

At the lower end of the wind range the kite seems to have a bit of power but not really want to sit right (cant expect too much at 8 knots) once it picked up to 10 knots it basically filled out a bit better and sat well, on first feel it felt like my naish cult a lot especially with the way the bridals are set up.

Kite turned slow up to about 10 knots(as expected) and once the wind got going at around 10-15 kts the kite really got some good fast turns going.

With the wind at around 10 knots gusting to 15. I really didn't feel the kite was producing much power, didn't think it would be enough to get back upwind too easy.

Well I was wrong, as soon as I hit the water the kite seemed to almost generate its own power and kept me going, upwind angle was fairly impressive considering the lack of wind. I could comfortably go out and back to the same spot in 8-10 knots, quite impressive so far.

Turning the kite on the water i found the kite to be fairly reactive with plenty of pull through the turns as long as you keep that bar pulled in.

Jumping felt a bit strange but after a cuple of attempts i got some decent air which was quite impressive for such marginal conditions, I think it will perform well in the jumping area of 15-20 knots..

Unhooking i found to be really good, the bar pressure is fairly low which makes unhooking quite easy, (see how it goes once i get a windier session though).

I really was sceptical of such a big chicken loop but it helps when hooking back in as you have a lot to grab onto. The leash system works well same as the naish system. Kite relaunched well, didn't take much to get it back up.

All in all I found the kite to be a great all rounder for freeriding, could be ok for freestyle but probably lacks a bit for explosive pop. Guess thats where the combat comes in. I am looking to get a board from switch when they come out and see how that goes, the prototypes look awesome.

Pretty keen to get a race board also with this kite hopefully switch decide to do one in the future, I believe the nitro would be good speedwise.

Basically if your looking for a kite that gets you on the water early, both upwind and jumping, this is the best I've found so far, look forward to seeing future models of the kite after some r&d. Pretty good though for their first designs.

See you on the water!

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freeride
  • Race
  • Light Wind
Sizes used
12m
Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review
 

Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page