Kite Reviews Kites Liquid Force Liquid Force Envy (2011)
 

Liquid Force Envy (2011) Liquid Force Envy (2011) Hot

Claim This Business
Liquid Force Envy (2011)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2011
Sizes
  • 5
  • 7
  • 9
  • 12
  • 15

Rock solid stability, directional float, pivotal turning and effortless re-launch highlight the Envy’s “beyond delta” design for all around performance. This ultra lightweight three-strut platform gives light, responsive bar feel with impulse pivotal turning. The Envy’s flight characteristics blend to produce a distinct “set it and forget it” feel. This makes it the perfect kite for everything from progressive wave riding to kite low freestyle domination. Land a jump a bit too hot, under run the kite in a bottom turn... forget about it! The Envy’s lightweight design allows the kite to float directionally, enabling you to forget about the kite and concentrate on the important issues: making grabs, spotting landings and reading the wave for perfect down the line performance.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.0
Performance 
 
8.8
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
9.6
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Liquid Force Envy (2011) 2011-03-21 18:01:38 Thomas
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Thomas    March 21, 2011

great fun and indestructable build

They have manged to improve on the amazing Envy of 2010, wow!

Even stronger construction, this kite must have the best build quality out there!

Super smooth through the air, the relaunch was really easy and the kite is extremely stable with pricise and direct turning.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
7, 9, 12
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Liquid Force Envy (2011) 2010-10-06 04:16:42 NEKite
Overall rating 
 
8.7
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by NEKite    October 06, 2010

Great Predictable Kite

15m = Good low end and suprisingly decent high end, pulls steady and holds a lot of power. Kite is still managable even when the wind picks up, I weigh 185lbs and while riding a 135cm board was able to ride it up in the low 20s and still feel comfortable. For a larger kite it is very easy to relaunch in light winds in comparison to other larger kites I have flown (ie. cab switchblades, best waroo, best nemesis, slingshot TDs, slingshot octane, etc.).

12m = Good low end also, due to the very low aspect, was able to hold my ground on the 12m while others where riding 14m. Has a perfect amount of turning speed, not too fast and twitchy, but not a hog either. These kites are pivotal turners though, takes time to get used to it if your coming off of a C-kite or kites that turn more around their wingtip axis, felt awkward for me at first, but I got used to it, just have to get the timing and bar input down.

9m = Good low end again for its size, unfortunately have not had a day yet to test out the high end on this kite. Again, a realy stable kite, you park it and it stays put for a small kite due to its low aspect ratio, a lot of small kites out there are very twitchy and unforgiving, one small false pull on the bar sends it diving or looping...not the Envy, its very stable and predictable, you park it and it stays put.

All kites:
-Build quality seems to be much more of an improvement, compared to LFs I have owned in the past, not as up to par with Cabrinha, but still pretty up there.
-Graphics and Kite color schemes on kites are sick, looks like the older slingshots, but with better solid colors.
-Max Flow system actually works, I find it realy efortless and quick to pump up, even on the 15. Also like that all pumps come with a gauge like the ones the slingshot pumps had. With the Max Flow system it also makes deflating and packing up a lot more quicker, no more kneeling on the kite bladders to force all the air out.
-I was initially concerned about the 3 strut design, concerned that it would not hold its shape well, concerned that it would deform in gusty conditions...all these concerns are no longer anymore....kite is suprisingly stable even in gusty conditions....just make sure to pump it to 7psi min.
-Bar setup is pretty nice. Has a nice centerline kill leash system, similar to the new cabrinha IDS to 100% depower and self land your kite in those nasty conditions. Only thing, I am not a huge fan of the rope and cleat type center line depower type systems, as you usually have to replace the depower line after a season depending how much riding you put in, but supposedly the availabilty of the parts and steps to replacing it are easier this year.
-Kites are rated as average jumpers, I actually think they are pretty good, and also have some decent float also.

Cons:
-Not as durable build quality as Cabrinha or Slingshot, but still realy good and also not as expensive as the two.
-Is a pivotal turner, takes a bit to get used to, depending on the types of kites you are used to flying. Turns are a little tighter though, this is good in the surf, when you need to redirect the kite quickly.
-Wish they would use different type of pulleys on the kite, they are big and beafed up so it looks like they can take a lot of load, but the pulley type design tends to get sand stuck in it easily and for some reason is a pain to blow and/or wask out in comparison to the standard ronstan pulleys found on Cabrinhas.
-The centerline swivel to untwist the center lines is useless, does not work, and the swivel mechanism is too far up the center lines to manually untwist, so you have to stop, and unhook and spin the donkey to get the twists out.
-It is one pump, and the one pump strut clips are provided, but not installed....no big deal. Also the kit does not come with any type of neuroprene guard to go over the struct clips, which are known to wear the canopy when they don't have a neuoprene guard over them. Cabrinha has a nice setup on theirs.

Overall: I am pretty happy with my choice, the Envy is a pretty good all around kite that will fit many styles/types of riding. Its a really stable and solid pulling kite. All sizes relaunch easy, even in light marginal winds. Has a decent full depowering safety system. The cost if very good for what you get. There is a few minor things on it that could have been done better, but these are minor issues and are not deal breakers.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
15,12,9
Was this review helpful to you? 
150
Report this review
Liquid Force Envy (2011) 2010-09-25 07:58:08 insener
Overall rating 
 
8.9
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
10.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by insener    September 25, 2010

Envy 2011

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
12
Was this review helpful to you? 
34
Report this review
Liquid Force Envy (2011) 2010-09-05 09:58:54 REAL
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by REAL    September 05, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

2011 Liquid Force Envy Reviewed by REAL

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Was this review helpful to you? 
60
Report this review
Liquid Force Envy (2011) 2010-07-30 09:08:17 Padi
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Padi    July 30, 2010

2011 Liquid Force Envy Review

BAG: Opened the box immediately and 'WOW' the bag is once again, fresh, attractive, and good graphical design. Extra straps on the outside. Very strong bag.

KITE: New colors this year (C4, C5 & C6). Opened C5 - color Army Green, wow, nice firm color, pulled kite out more, color pattern yellow, pink strut bumpers. Hmm, have to say, it did not impress me with the color combo at first. Nevertheless, LF has only got better and better each year so not writing it off yet.

Pumped kite up, 3 struts design again. First one I pumped was a 9m. New sizes in the 2011 range - 7m & 9m, then 12m+. IMO 9m & 12m is a much better range unless you are like me who has every single size . Wow, the middle strut seems much longer than last year's, i.e. aspect ratio must have been lowered? Last year's Envy was a pretty fast kite, so perhaps they have made it a tad slower this year? Flip the kite on the grass, and the color is filtering through the sun a lot better. Cool graphics once again, with a strong material pattern. Not as BRIGHT & LOUD as last year's lol. Still not totally impressed with the colors yet.

Bumper protection all along the LE, very similar to last year's. Very good enforcement all round, again, cant notice much difference to last year's. Bridle system very similar to last year too. Same one pump system with one way valve. No wind, so packed kite up. Hope wind tomorrow!

Tomorrow came (today), and there was wind! Opened up the 12m, AR not as much difference as the 9m. The Island electric pumps are the best!

Self-launch, as easy as. Wow, as soon as the kite is in the air, the pattern and logo of the kite came through as a very definite and confident shadow. I am impressed :) Not everything is looks but looks do play an important factor in many products today. Just today a customer came in the shop and decided to pay an extra $450 to buy a board that he reckons look better lol. Who am I to argue! Anyway, I am beginning to like the look of the kite.

Let's tune the kite. Hmm, tuning? The kite did not need any tuning. It sat at zenith stable as, with bar all the way out, with it all the way in, did not stall at all. It was blowing about 15kts then, full power settings. Unhook - woohoo, it did not even wobble. Let's go for a run.....

First sign of kite immediately noticed it is a bit slower than 2010 Envy, slightly more bar pressure but it was marginal 12-15kts. Few more signing, the kite started to excel and popped me right on the plane. Wow, is it a Havoc I am flying? It certainly feels a little like it, but turns faster. Nice, let's do a turn. Hard pull, and the kite literally turns on the axle - woohoo! Feels like turning a trainer kite lol! More wind coming back leg, edge hard, release a bit, the kite starts to work on its own and takes me upwind. Nice work Envy!

Downwind kiteloop transition - woot! Kite deifnitely pivots well. Let's see how well it pops! Up up I go, pull bar in, and higher I went as I pull bar in half way through. It definitely lifts like a Havoc! Definitely more lower end power than last year's Envy. Very easy transition, very responsive turning, just like last year's. Kite at 11, back roll, kite just sat there all the way.

Rest of session was just sheer fun and joy.

Conclusion
Top marks LF team! You have done it again! A lot of criticisms last year were that the kite was too bright & too fast (I loved it though)! But I think they have listened to people and came out with a even more ideal ALL TERRAIN KITE. I cannot fault it at all. My top marks given.

Details

Sizes used
7m, 9m & 12m
Was this review helpful to you? 
120
Report this review
 

Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page