Kite Reviews Kites Takoon Takoon Furia LTD (2010)
 

Takoon Furia LTD (2010) Takoon Furia LTD (2010) Hot

Claim This Business
Takoon Furia LTD (2010)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Year
2010
Sizes
  • 7
  • 9
  • 11
  • 13

The Design of the Furia Limited is definitely focussed on Freestyle and Wave riding. Its hybrid shape combines the advantages of the C shape and bridle in order to offer the best turning ability of the Takoon range. Furia LTD is intended for riders looking for real fast turning kite, efficient de-power and a better high end. The new Diamond Bar is one of leading bar on the market, offers an accurate control of the kite power.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.8
Performance 
 
8.8
Build Quality 
 
8.8
Control Bar 
 
8.2
Depower 
 
9.6
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Takoon Furia LTD (2010) 2011-12-24 00:39:00 Thomas
Overall rating 
 
7.2
Performance 
 
7.0
Build Quality 
 
7.0
Control Bar 
 
5.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Thomas    December 24, 2011

Perfect all rounder and awesome beginner kite!

We had a 9m Furia in the school last year and its was loved by all who were using it, amazing in light winds with instant relaunch, zero back stall and super stable. It was the perfect kite to learn on!

As a performance kite I can say it is not great, jumping is good but it is slow to turn and looping is rubbish. For wakestyle is is far to floppy, you don't get the solid pull when you edge against it.

The build is light but this is what makes it so good in light winds

The bar is rubbish! Its about 10 years behind the leasding brands systems and the line are appalling, we snapped loads of them in underpowered conditions. never had a problem lik this with other bars so used it on LF or RRD bars and lines.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
  • Race
  • Light Wind
Sizes used
9m
Was this review helpful to you? 
12
Report this review
Takoon Furia LTD (2010) 2010-07-30 14:46:04 Giorgio
Overall rating 
 
9.1
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Giorgio    July 30, 2010

Furia 11 LTD

I've been riding Furia 11 LTD for about two months, with winds between 15 and 25 knots also gusty in some case. The kite is really fast. It has a beautiful hang-time and lets you to make huge high jumps. I'd like to try it with light winds but at the moment it's really windy here in Sicily. The bar is soft but not too (like rpm that i tried this year) and the chicken loop of the diamond bar is confortable for unhooking. At 25 knots you feel safe and the depower works perfectly. Compared to Waroo I used last year the Fury is much faster and has a better upper wind range. I think it's a perfect kite for intermediate kiters that are trying their first unhooked tricks cause it's very stable in every contidion of wind.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
11
Was this review helpful to you? 
50
Report this review
Takoon Furia LTD (2010) 2010-07-22 12:02:53 Al
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by Al    July 22, 2010

13m Furia ltd

I've been riding the 13m for a few months and have been loving it. Jumps really well, great unhooked though must have 2 inches of depower in to prevent backstall. I've nailed raileys and unhooked laid out rolls and getting s-bends and tantrums sorted thanks to this kite. Very stable and forgiving, soaks up line slack and relaunches well. Massive top end, still 25% depower left at 22 knots (i'm 90kg on a 133). Not particularly grunty in light wind but can still make kite work 12 knots (for my weight and board) because it is so fast to turn and has good upwind ability. There are more specific kites out there but this is good all-round kite and fun to fly. Spinning front line safety.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
13m
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Takoon Furia LTD (2010) 2010-07-05 04:26:09 jamie
Overall rating 
 
9.4
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by jamie    July 05, 2010

7 & 11m Takoon Furia LTD

I have been riding the Takoon Furia LTD 11m & 7m for the past 4 months now, so I think its time for a review. As soon as I took the kites out of their bags I checked them over and they are very well constructed with the usual reinforcements where needed (leading edge, wingtips, ect). The kite is one-pump but also can be easily changed to none one-pump with the stoppers provided. The kite has 3 rear attachment points which allow you to change turning responsiveness. The front bridle also has 2 attachment points which change bar pressure, depower rate and low wind ability.

The bar comes comes with 22m lines which I really like. The chicken loop is nice and big so perfect for un-hooked riding. The chicken loop is also self aligning so when you unhook it is aligned ready to hook back in. The trim system on the bar is a mini clam cleat which works really well. however after 4 months of use there is some slight wear, which is expected from clam cleat systems. There is also some velcro on the trailing end which allows you to keep it out of the way when riding. The main centre line/depower rope is covered in a PU coating which stops the wear you normally get on DP ropes. The bar can change between 45 cm and 55 cm simply by swapping the larks head on the end of the leader lines.

In the air the kite is really stable and you can just let the kite sit above your head and it doesn't overfly/hindenburg even in gusty winds. The kite turns very fast this may be because I have come from flexi atoms which are slow. The kite also seems to travel through the window very fast as well. I have the kite set on the slowest turning setting and the 45 cm bar and it is perfect for wakestyle.

The wind range of these kites are pretty impressive too. With the 11m I can ride from about 13knts to about 28knts but by this point I would be hanging on. (im 73kg and ride a 133x40). I can ride the 7m from 18knts too 35knts, It probably has a bit more top end but I haven't had chance to see because the wind has been pretty poor recently. The bar has allot of de-power at the bar and there is a stopperball to allow you to adjust the bar throw. The kite boosts huge and there is loads of float. I have the front bridle set on the low wind setting which is great for parking the kite and popping. Un-hooked it feels nice and stable and doesn't need much trimming. Relaunch from the water is pretty easy, pull one of the rear lines and over it goes, obviously it takes a bit more persuasion in lighter winds.

The safety is a front line flag out. I have only used it twice and on both these occasions it has worked really well.

Overall Id say this is a great kite, the best kite i've flown up to date. Would suit intermediates onwards, however Id say if you are a beginner looking for a kite to grow into then you should be fine as there is heaps of de-power and is nice and stable. One thing I would change is have a suicide attachment point maybe something like on the ozone bars.

Details

Sizes used
7 & 9m
Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review
Takoon Furia LTD (2010) 2010-07-05 04:24:58 roachapproach
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by roachapproach    July 05, 2010

Takoon Furia LTD

I've been riding the 9m furia since last year, great kite in the surf, heads up wind hard, for me as a 70kg rider on a surfboard could get away with one kite 13 -24knts and hanging on at the top end. Got the new furia ltd [army style colour] great looking kite, 9m, epic, very fast turning, good upwind, big air with lots more loft, good delay not pulling you away from the wave on the bottom turn. This kite doesn't truck along but can get you out of trouble instantly in those hairy sitchas! Rode the 7m today great wind, felt like the mini 9m obviously, which other kites lack, this little kite loves being whipped and jammed, any air the landings not to hard, goood loft , super turning speed for hitting the waves, and not hanging over your head. Who wouldn't want one for xmas, my nine needs a pet whippet!

Details

Sizes used
7 & 9m
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
 

Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page