Kite Reviews Kites Takoon Takoon Pure (2010)
 

Takoon Pure (2010) Takoon Pure (2010) Hot

Claim This Business
Takoon Pure (2010)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2010
Sizes
  • 5
  • 7
  • 9
  • 12

The objective for Takoon was to build a stable kitesurf kite with a great turning ability and direct steering, a huge windrange and automatic relaunch to provide maximum comfort and confidence. All the above make the Takoon Pure suitable for both wave riding and new-school freestyle. The Delta shape helps the Takoon pure kite to turn predictably with no twist in gusty conditions. The swept leading edge and raked back wingtip minimize drag to increase kites performance notably in low end. The Takoon Pure offers excellent upwind abilities and wind range. The innovative Pure profile and mini-bridle provide a perfect steering.

User reviews

View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 7 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.8
Performance 
 
8.3
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.4
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
9.2
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Takoon Pure (2010) 2012-01-24 12:45:13 peter heirman
Overall rating 
 
9.1
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by peter heirman    January 24, 2012

Takoon Pure 5

Quick turning kite
Impressive wind range from 25knots to 45knots(or more)
Quite fast and good upwind for wave.
It even jumps quite well powered up (>30knots)
Relaunch is instant as with all delta kites
Wave riding is superb
Due to delta design: the on/off depower (short travel of bar required) in very gusty wind requires to depower gently else you lose to much speed.

Details

Suited Styles
Wave
Sizes used
5
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Takoon Pure (2010) 2011-09-19 08:08:32 Heriman
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Heriman    September 19, 2011

Takoon Pure 7m

Fast turning kite allowing to get going at low wind speeds and fast over 25 knots.

Massive depower = big wind range: from 17knots to 34 knots at 68kg
PDS is not required: just don't walk on the beach with the kite in the zenith

Don't pull the bar as it slows down the kite and can even stall at low wind speeds. Push the bar away in order to gain more speed that's all you need.

Wave: Ok for wave riding as flying backwards is feasible - still keep an eye on the kite if you don't make a bottom turn at the bottom of the wave. Very responsive kite.
You can fly the kite fast or slow depending on where you hold the bar.

During turns it keeps more or less the same amount of power and doesn't pull you of the board with a kite loop on a wave.

Freeride: it can go good upwind (not like a race kite) and is fast (faster than a Airrush Varial at 26-28knots).

Jump / pop: enough power to jump over a 1m or 2m wave, but not enough to steal the show in front of the beach as it flies short (hardly planes due to the delta shape).

Relaunch: fast enough for North Sea waves (= very fast)

The kite came with longer backlines: 127cm (= +27cm) than originally fitted.
At low wind speeds the cloth above the first strut trembles - not a high wind speeds. Found this annoying: added 13cm rope on the front bridle for low wind speeds: hardly any flappering - use the standard length when in high winds (>28knots).

Control bar: OK - nothing special - uses velcro which won't get stuck with sand as mechanical systems do.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freeride
Sizes used
7m
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Takoon Pure (2010) 2011-06-20 12:55:22 Joao Machado
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
10.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Joao Machado    June 20, 2011

Very good kite ....

Hello

I have a Takoon Pure 12m since August of 2010 and i have very good rides with him. I am a rookie so I need a stable and easy rinding and with Takoon Pure 12m is what i have. With this kite you can make some mistakes without dangerous.

I use the kite with PDS system and i never try without this so i cannot tell you the performance without this.

The only issue that i have is sometimes i cannot generate the power that i "want" but this is problems with the rider and not with the kite :)

The relauch is incredible, is ver very very easy, in 5 seconds is again in the air.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Wakestyle
Sizes used
12m
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Takoon Pure (2010) 2011-02-15 16:06:17 george dimou
Overall rating 
 
9.6
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
10.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by george dimou    February 15, 2011

takoon pure pds

perfect kite for wave and begginers,perfect auto relaunch,smooth movement,easy ride,but the strongest point is the PDS system.it helps the kite to stay up in higher wind gusts contitions.no more stalls ,and trust me it works perfect..

Details

Suited Styles
Wave
Sizes used
9
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Takoon Pure (2010) 2011-02-14 21:00:43 Jack
Overall rating 
 
5.1
Performance 
 
3.0
Build Quality 
 
7.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
5.0
Relaunch 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Jack    February 14, 2011

Frontstall kite

I buy this kite 1 years later...i'm used for only two weeks...finally i sell the kite...

Very bad sensation...more power in kiteloop but when you ride hooneked have more problem of stability.

The best problem of this kite is frontstall...i improved many setup...but every time the problem is same...frontstall end kite booom in the water.

My opinion is not good.

Details

Sizes used
12
Was this review helpful to you? 
24
Report this review
 
View all user reviews
 

Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page