Kite Reviews Kites Ocean Rodeo Ocean Rodeo Razor (2012)
 

Ocean Rodeo Razor (2012) Ocean Rodeo Razor (2012) Hot

Claim This Business
Ocean Rodeo Razor (2012)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2012
Sizes
  • 5
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 12

Incredible hooked and unhooked Freestyle and Surf Performance. The 4 strut Razor offers riders explosive power, ultra aggressive feel and the most power per square meter of any kite in our line up. The Razor sits deep for continued pull through transitions and down wind, built for twin tip riders who like to ride lit up and surfers who like to charge the line hooked in. FST Wingtip Technology adds even better bar feedback, steering control and wind range to this year's Razor. All 2012 kites fly perfectly with any of our 3 bars, Freeride, Fusion or Freestyle and all kites feature our unique Direct De-power System, designed to fully roll over and disable your kite in the event of an eject or total depower.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.3
Performance 
 
9.6
Build Quality 
 
9.4
Control Bar 
 
8.8
Depower 
 
8.8
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Ocean Rodeo Razor (2012) 2012-05-12 16:21:00 Luke Acker
Overall rating 
 
9.7
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Luke Acker    May 12, 2012

Found the perfect kite

Unbelievable performance. This kite rips ou off the water and leaves you wondering why you're still going up. Great build quality. Stable when you want it to be. Super powerful when you are ready for it. Love it!

Details

Suited Styles
Wave
Sizes used
10, 7
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Ocean Rodeo Razor (2012) 2012-01-03 06:47:55 Claas
Overall rating 
 
9.9
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
10.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Claas    January 03, 2012

Ocean Rodeo Razor 2012 - TOP!

Great Kite, stable in all conditions, for a wide range of Styles!!!
Pulls nice and grunty in lower winds one would expect and is absolutely controllable until you really want 3 metres less... Great Job OR!

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
7, 10
Was this review helpful to you? 
52
Report this review
Ocean Rodeo Razor (2012) 2011-12-17 13:45:33 IKSURFMAG
Overall rating 
 
8.7
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by IKSURFMAG    December 17, 2011

Razor Review

At a Glance

The Razor from Ocean Rodeo is billed as an SLE C kite, aimed at the freestyle and wave market. Out of the box it certainly looks the part, in fact all the 2012 kites from Ocean Rodeo look rather appealing, hats off to the graphics guys on that one! But lets look beyond that as OR have always been known for their innovative well thought out products. The Venturi Technology is present once again; this is a vent on the kite that allows air to flow from one side of the canopy to the other near the trailing edge. Ultimately this reduces drag and allows the kite to fly at a much more sheeted angle than a conventional kite; it also helps with back stalling. It’s nothing new, OR have been using it since 2008, but as you would expect they haven’t stopped there. Perhaps the most striking feature of the Razor are the FST wingtips. FST stands for Forward Swept Wing Technology and in a nutshell it makes the wingtip bigger to help with smoother faster turning whilst at the some time moving the front line attachment points further forward which gives the kite more depower and range. It also helps break the surface tension during relaunch. The build quality is really high on the Razor, something we have come to expect from Ocean Rodeo over the years. There are plenty of reinforcements in all the right places and the overall package is very well put together.

The Bar

Just like the kite, the bar is a little different to the norm too. You’ll notice the curved shape and it immediately stands out from the rest of the pack. Ergonomically it feels very comfortable in the hands and the bar comes complete with O’Shit handles, floats, and moveable stopper and a below the bar trim system to take care of the depower. The chicken loop is a simple push away system that works very well.

In the Air

Wow, that was one word that sprang to mind the instant we launched the Razor for the first time. It’s like a little pocket rocket! We were amazed at the low-end power and pull of the kite. For a 9m it certainly pulled like a train, but while some kites pull and seem to sit further back in the window being sluggish the Razor was no slouch. Those big wide wing tips mean that when you put some input into the bar the whole kite seems to twist and start to turn through the window with surprising speed and force. This makes for a very exciting kite to fly, especially if you like pulling big powered freestyle tricks. Send the kite bock for a jump and it really wrenches you off the water, there is plenty of float on the way down too, offering an aggressive feel but not sacrificing hangtime the Razor put a smile on all the testers faces when they flew it. Upwind is very good, allowing you to quickly get back to where you started after pulling a load of jumps. Relaunch was very easy, we didn’t have any problems there at all, sometimes the rear line needed a tug to encourage it to get airborne in lighter winds though. Bar pressure was medium, we always felt like we were getting plenty of feedback from the kite. While it was powerful and punchy it was very predictable in it’s flying characteristics.

For

Innovative, a little different, blistering speed, power and
performance. Great construction and some very stylish looks for 2012 too.

Against

This kite isn’t a gentle boast. While it is easy to fly it delivers a hefty pull especially when looping. Riders at the novice end of the scale would be better suited to the Rise.

Overall

A great little kite from Ocean Rodeo, it delivered pull that we really weren’t expecting, lots of power fast smooth turns and big loops!

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
9m
Was this review helpful to you? 
80
Report this review
Ocean Rodeo Razor (2012) 2011-12-11 14:04:39 Lucas
Overall rating 
 
9.6
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Lucas    December 11, 2011

One Of the Best

The 2012 RAZOR is ultimate freestyle machine. Constant hard pull and wery stabile in unhooked, same time fast in hooked. I use Freestyle bar, with shorter lines. I use RAZOR also in wave riding. I love this kite !

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
Sizes used
10
Was this review helpful to you? 
44
Report this review
Ocean Rodeo Razor (2012) 2011-11-03 21:50:25 James Bainbridge
Overall rating 
 
8.4
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by James Bainbridge    November 03, 2011

10m Razor

I flew this yesterday in about 17-20mph at Exmouth. Perfect conditions, dead flat in the channel on twin tip and small waves out the back of the sand bar on my surfboard. Kite was lovely in both disciplines, was really powerful - I’d normally be out on my 11m in that wind and comfortable, I was overpowered really. Kite boosted effortlessly and nice floaty jumps, was using the larger fusion bar and kite was really stable when you wanted it to be but turned quickly and responsively when you wanted it to. On the surfboard it sat back going down wind and off the waves but when you wanted it to kick in it did so quickly. A couple of times i got caught out going towards the kite too quickly and it lost too much tension in the lines, but it floated backwards and stayed in the air until the lines tensioned again. If anyone wants to know any more let me know but I’m going to get a 12m to fit in with my other kites, This will be my biggest kite and was a little worried it wouldn’t be big enough for light winds but if it pulls like the 10m there shouldn’t be any problems. Looks great and has a few neat looking tricks such as the vents and wing tips. kite kept its shape all of the time and flew well when depowered and was really responsive so guess these did the business. Cant comment on relaunch as i didn’t need to do any but the wingtips also should make this easier.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
10m
Was this review helpful to you? 
70
Report this review
 

Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page