Kite Reviews Kites F-One F-One Bandit 3 (2010)
 

F-One Bandit 3 (2010) F-One Bandit 3 (2010) Hot

Claim This Business
F-One Bandit 3 (2010)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Year
2010
Sizes
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 13
  • 15

The Bandit 3 has a brand new design with a higher aspect ratio, a new profile, a deeper C shape, and bigger fully segmented struts. We have also shortened the bridle which is now attached to four points on the kite and equipped with three pulleys. All four lines have the same length and the V on the front lines is longer. On top of that the B3 only requires one pump and includes a new stainless steel UPS HP integrating the life line clipping on the bar when riding unhooked. The B3 retains all the qualities and innovations of the Delta C Shape such as the auto relaunch the EVO bridle system and the lifeline.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
7.7
Performance 
 
8.8
Build Quality 
 
6.3
Control Bar 
 
6.8
Depower 
 
6.8
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
F-One Bandit 3 (2010) 2013-02-14 17:12:55 Andy
Overall rating 
 
6.8
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
6.0
Control Bar 
 
5.0
Depower 
 
5.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Andy    February 14, 2013
Last updated: February 28, 2013

correction

I have to add to my previous post that I managed to get the pipes replaced, so the kite is usable again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
F-One Bandit 3 (2010) 2013-01-08 17:37:12 LBkites
Overall rating 
 
9.1
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
7.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by LBkites    January 08, 2013

BANDIT 3 11mt

this is my first kite and i think it's very good!
the relaunch is very simple, the kite make himself all what have to do!
it has a lot of hang time and a good speed of loop.

that's one of the best kite i have ever used

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
  • Race
  • Light Wind
Sizes used
11mt
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
F-One Bandit 3 (2010) 2012-11-04 14:46:45 Andy
Overall rating 
 
6.2
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
3.0
Control Bar 
 
5.0
Depower 
 
5.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Andy    November 04, 2012

Bandit III 13, Not what I expected

I am not really happy with this Kite. I am 80 kg and I bought this kite
for low winds. For me it does not have any better low-end than a 12m kite,
but (I assume) it may have a lower high-end.
It is also rather slow, especially in the low winds, so by the time I do the figure 8s, I am already under the water.
Well, of course I would need some special low-wind board, and maybe some more
experience. But anyway, it is clear it is not a low-wind kite for 80kg people, rather a normal-wind kite for say 90kg people.
I don't want to blame the kite for this, but it is something good to know.

The real problem with the kite is, that this kite is only in the 3rd year of its life and some of the little plastic pipes, which come out of the main tube and are used to connect with the cross-tubes, are already worn, one of them already has a tiny hole, so it is leaking the air.
And then it doesn't matter, of course, how well other parts are constructed. Even if they may last for 20 more years, one tiny hole is enough to make the kite useless. Or ijust imagine it breaks down in the middle of the sea.

I hope one thay someone will come out with a kite with multiple airchambers, so a hole in one of them will not be fatal. Or something like the self-healing
bike tube I saw the other day.

Another thing I am not really happy with is the depower system. You would really need two hands to depower, and a 3rd to hold the bar. Many times when I wanted to depower I could not really fix the line in place and the kite just went full power.

The relaunch is working fine.

Details

Sizes used
13
Was this review helpful to you? 
01
Report this review
F-One Bandit 3 (2010) 2010-07-05 04:18:55 Randy Hereman
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by Randy Hereman    July 05, 2010

Bandit III Test Report

First of all I want to start with the fact that I am an International team rider for F-one. If you want to know my experience about the new Bandit III, then keep on reading and if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask me at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

The Bandit III is a totally new designed kite. The concept (Delta C-Shape) is the same, but the profile has changed. The B3 (from now on I’ll refer to the Bandit III as ‘B3’) is nothing like the Bandit Dos or the original Bandit.

The new B3 will be provided with a one-pump system and the bridles are cleaner and more comfortable. The kites have a higher AR (aspect ratio), more lift and stability. The high end of the kite has got a lot bigger and the low-end remains the same.

The bar is provided with equal line lengths. Which is ideal if, for example: you don’t have the money to buy a complete set of kites. Now you can just buy a kite only and use the bar from your other kites.
The UPS on the bar has changed into a newer and better system. A lot more clean, and perfect for unhooking. When you unhook the UPS will click into the bar and remains there for the rest of your jump. When you want to hook back in the chicken-loop will always be in the same place. 
The safety system is still the same. It’s a little old fashion and could have changed into a newer system. But the most important thing is that this system will always work, regardless if there is sand or anything into it.


These are the first technical differences/features that I can come up with. Now I’ll tell you about my personal experience and feelings with the new Bandit 3.

The first thing you notice when you are standing on the beach is the stability. It just doesn’t fall out of the air. I had the kite several times above me in gusty/unstable wind and the kite flew far over my head. Not a single time the kite dropped out of the sky. It just fly’s backwards, back into the wind-window and catches power again. Even after I missed a high handlepass and I dangled down on my leash into the water. The same thing but now even more extreme; the kite fly’s over my head, the lines are completely slacked (no more tension on the lines) and I stay underwater with my arms protecting my head, afraid the kite falls out of the sky and the lines are all around me. The kite slowly floats back into the wind-window and stays in the air.

When the wind picks up the B3 is still riding super comfortable. The difference between the B3 and the Bandit Dos is huge. Before, when I was to over-powered for unhooked tricks, I just didn’t get the courage to unhook and make my moves full power. This year’s kite has less bar pressure when you are overpowered and riders a lot more comfortable. Therefore giving me more confidence to unhook and try my moves, even if I am overpowered. Because of the higher AR, the kites are squarer instead of round (I hope everybody understands what I mean). Because they are more square they are less nervous, and more direct and precise during the jumps. Especially unhooked. When the Delta C-shape kites have a lower AR, the profile looks more round and the kites will sometimes go up or down when you edge. When it goes up you get more lift and go higher then expected and loose balance. When the kite goes down you will have obviously less lift and the kite will go down during your jump. Making it a lot harder to land. With big kites and light wind it was never a big problem. The wind is to soft and the kites react to slowly. But with kites from 5m2 to 9m2 you can notice a big difference. It is a lot more stable and better.

For unhooked riding there is a better UPS now (see above for more details) and the there is less drag during the wakestyle jumps (jumps with your kite low, without moving your kite), making it easier to pass. If you are used to the Bandit Dos then it will take a little to adjust to it, it is a different timing. But once you adjusted it will be a lot easier and better.

The last big change in the B3 is the kite loops. The kite is looping a lot smoother and makes a nice round loop, instead of just turning around the tip. I’m not a technical designer but I think it is because of the higher AR and the better c-shape.

The durability of the one pump system will have to prove itself over time. I’ve been riding with a one pump system, together with Pauline, for the last 6 months and only had some problems in the beginning; The canopy of the kite broke because there was no sleeve around the plastic and that was creating friction between the plastic and the canopy. Making the canopy weak and therefore breaking easier. Placing the one-pump more to the outside and putting a neoprene sock around the plastic has solved the problem.

Details

Sizes used
Most sizes
Was this review helpful to you? 
70
Report this review
 

Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page