Kite Reviews Kites Blade Blade Prime (2010)
 

Blade Prime (2010) Blade Prime (2010) Hot

Claim This Business
Blade Prime (2010)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2010
Sizes
  • 7
  • 9
  • 11

More refined than its predecessor, this year's model was designed for riders who need a rush of extreme during their sessions - tons of power, big air - with greater control so you can use it all. The 2010 Prime is finely tuned C kite hybrid for hardcore freestylers as well as skilled riders who seek an extreme ride. The Prime is a revolutionary four line freestyle kite with a great pop, powerful turns, and direct feel. The aggressively shaped leading edge delivers unparalleled speed and responsiveness, and the 5th line is replaced by an efficient minimal bridal system giving leading edge support. We've developed all aspects of the Prime to deliver the strong characteristics you want in a C kite, while expanding the kite's performance sweet spot to suit the range of demands of advanced riders.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.3
Performance 
 
9.3
Build Quality 
 
6.7
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
6.7
Relaunch 
 
7.3
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Blade Prime (2010) 2010-07-05 04:11:46 Grant Clayton
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by Grant Clayton    July 05, 2010

Blade Review

First of all I have just gotten sponsorship from Blade this year and i was really looking forward to riding their gear this year.

I also need to get some better wind to really put these kites through their paces but my first impressions are really really good as I have came from 2008 and 2009 Slingshot Fuels which are great freestyle kites and I thought it was going to take a lot to get me off them - but the 2010 Blade Primes have done this!!

First impressions – they have super build quality, triple stitched lots of reinforcement in the right places and a very neat one-pump system that inflated the kite easily.

First thing I noticed when I put the kite up was how it felt and flew like a regular C shape kite, the stability was awesome! Unhooking with this kite was perfect, just sat in the window at the correct position and behaved with good stability and constant power.

Kiteloops surprised me, I was expecting more of a quick pivot round and back up above your head, but it seemed to do a full loop and climb back above your head without any problems. The one thing that I loved about kiteloops with this kite was the constant pull through the loop, which is what all riders want.

I had 3 other people try this kite with me and all their views came to the same conclusion, one of which was so stoked with them that he's going to purchase a full quiver of the 2010 primes!

I think Blade has really nailed it with the 2010 prime and a lot of people will be surprised by them – especially that 9m loop!

Such good kites, i definatly found the perfect kite for me!

Grant Clayton

Details

Sizes used
7, 9 & 11m
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Blade Prime (2010) 2010-07-05 04:10:41 Darren Burns
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by Darren Burns    July 05, 2010

Blade Prime 2010 Review

I started on C kites and then moved to bows. The added depower was just a really nice changed from being dragged up the beach when you messed up.

In 2009 we started to sell blade kites and there was a lot of interest in the prime. The guys riding them had massive priase for it and Iksurf magazine gave a stonking review.

It was only this year when i heard that they had kept all the same performance but added a little more depower did I think to give them a go for the season.

I have to say, I have been really impressed since. Way more fun thatn anything I have used for years. Fantastic turns and very stable especially for such a high end kite.

The build is as good as they come (being from one of the top factories) and the bar is being used by other brands now (which defineatley says something about how good it is).

In short, if you want big performance but no compromise on wind range, safety or build then this is a great choice.

Details

Sizes used
9m
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Blade Prime (2010) 2010-07-04 11:33:33 Ryan
Overall rating 
 
6.3
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
1.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
4.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by Ryan    July 04, 2010

09's were great, 10's big disappointment

I've been kiting for 7 years. I began with old school C kites and swore by them until last year when I bought the 2009 9m & 14m blade trigger. I loved that kite and reminded me of the slingshot's, Wipika's, and RRD's I rode. I had nothing but praise for the 09' kites.

I've demoed a ton of kites and know the different characteristics I'm looking for such as bar pressure, turning speed, relaunch, build quality, aerodynamics, jumping, safety, etc. I have to say that the 2010 11m prime I rode was at first a little too twitchy. When doing unhooked tricks and handle passes it would react to the little input I gave the bar. Once I got used to it, I praised the kite for it's low bar pressure and quick turning. The kite is a very good jumper and great for helicopter loops or loops without too much power. I never could get any really great big exaggerated kiteloops with this kite and land them like I could the triggers or C kites. It almost seemed to lack lift when coming back up to the apex of the window. Perhaps it's cause it was a larger kite too. I do have a 9m & 7m in the mail, supposedly picking it up tomorrow evening.

Here are my two complaints. Ever since I received the kite, there was a slow leak. The dealer I work with said to push down on the plastic around the inflate plug, right up against the velcro so the plastic ring will be against the backing of the flap, and I did that. Still had the slow leak. Rode with the slow leak for a couple sessions and then today the bladder blew out of leading edge. I bought this kite brand new less than 3 weeks ago. I checked the area where the bladder blew out and there were no signs whatsoever of wear. It looked as new as the day I got it out of the package except now blow apart.

I'm extremely disappointed with the build quality of this kite this year. I like the design of it however that doesn't do much when the build quality sucks.

I demoed all the blade kites this year, check the other kites for review.

Details

Sizes used
11m
Was this review helpful to you? 
11
Report this review
 

Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page